Agenda item

To consider reports from Executive Councillors

Part I – To deal with written questions to the Executive.

Part II – To receive reports from the following Members of the Executive:-

a) Councillor Federica Smith-Roberts – Leader of the Council

b) Councillor Derek Perry – Deputy Leader & Parks, Sports and Leisure

c) Councillor Christopher Booth – Community

d) Councillor Ross Henley – Corporate Resources

e) Councillor Marcus Kravis – Asset Management and Economic Development

f) Councillor Caroline Ellis – Culture

g) Councillor Dixie Darch – Climate Change

h) Councillor Mike Rigby – Planning and Transportation

i) Councillor Francesca Smith - Housing

j) Councillor Andy Sully – Environmental Services


An Executive Councillor shall submit a report to an Ordinary Meeting of the Council as to current and future business of their portfolio for the information of and comment from the Council. Such reports are for discussion and comment only and no motion shall be put to the meeting as to any such item other than those closure motions described in Standing Order 5.


During the discussion, the following points were raised:-

·       Councillors queried what was happening with the Bus Station in Taunton and highlighted that Somerset County Council had sent out consultation documents regarding bus station provisions.

Officers advised that a member briefing would be arranged to answer the many queries regarding the topic.

·       Councillors queried what progress had been made on the Innovation District Hub.

Officers advised that a report was being taken to Corporate Scrutiny for debate.

·       Councillors requested an update on the Local Plan.

·       Councillors mentioned a conference for Parish Councils, to advise them of how services would be delivered under the Unitary Authority.  Concern was raised that there had been rumours that Somerset County Council would become the continuing authority and how would the District Councils feed into that.

Officers advised that all 5 Council were working collaboratively on the structure for the Joint Committees and further detailed information would be given once the Structural Change Order was received.

Supporting documents: