

Standards Committee

You are requested to attend a meeting of the Standards Committee to be held in The John Meikle Room, The Deane House, Belvedere Road, Taunton on 8 June 2010 at 14:30.

Agenda

- 1 Appointment of Chairman of the Standards Committee.
- 2 Appointment of Vice-Chairman.
- 3 Apologies.
- 4 Minutes of the meeting of the Standards Committee held on 14 April 2010 (attached).
- 5 Public Question Time.
- 6 Declaration of Interests To receive declarations of personal or prejudicial interests, in accordance with the Code of Conduct.
- 7 Standards and Taunton Deane Borough Council. The Leader of the Council, Councillor John Williams, will be in attendance for this item.
- 8 Draft Performance Indicators for the Standards Committee. A number of suggested indicators which have been modified since the last meeting are attached for further consideration.

Reporting Officer: Richard Bryant

9 Dispensation to Members of West Monkton Parish Council in respect of the Local Development Framework Planning Process for Monton Heathfield. Report of the Monitoring Officer (attached).

Reporting Officer: Tonya Meers

Standards for England - What happens next following the Government's recent decision to abolish this organisation?

Reporting Officer: Tonya Meers

11 Possible presentation of the results of the Ethical Governance Questionnaire to Full Council.

Reporting Officer: Tonya Meers

12 Date of next meeting.

The following items are likely to be considered after the exclusion of the press and public because of the likelihood that exempt information would otherwise be disclosed relating to the Clause set out below of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

Update on complaints made against Councillors under the Local Assessment Framework. Report of the Monitoring Officer (attached).

Clause 2 - Information which would reveal the identity of an individual.

Reporting Officer: Tonya Meers

Tonya Meers Legal and Democratic Services Manager

01 June 2010

Members of the public are welcome to attend the meeting and listen to the discussions.

There is time set aside at the beginning of most meetings to allow the public to ask questions.

Speaking under "Public Question Time" is limited to 4 minutes per person in an overall period of 15 minutes. The Committee Administrator will keep a close watch on the time and the Chairman will be responsible for ensuring the time permitted does not overrun. The speaker will be allowed to address the Committee once only and will not be allowed to participate further in any debate.

If a member of the public wishes to address the Committee on any matter appearing on the agenda, the Chairman will normally permit this to occur when that item is reached and before the Councillors begin to debate the item.

This is more usual at meetings of the Council's Planning Committee and details of the "rules" which apply at these meetings can be found in the leaflet "Having Your Say on Planning Applications". A copy can be obtained free of charge from the Planning Reception Desk at The Deane House or by contacting the telephone number or e-mail address below.

If an item on the agenda is contentious, with a large number of people attending the meeting, a representative should be nominated to present the views of a group.

These arrangements do not apply to exempt (confidential) items on the agenda where any members of the press or public present will be asked to leave the Committee Room.

Full Council, Executive, Committees and Task and Finish Review agendas, reports and minutes are available on our website: www.tauntondeane.gov.uk

Lift access to the John Meikle Room and the other Committee Rooms on the first floor of The Deane House, is available from the main ground floor entrance. Toilet facilities, with wheelchair access, are also available off the landing directly outside the Committee Rooms.



An induction loop operates to enhance sound for anyone wearing a hearing aid or using a transmitter.

For further information about the meeting, please contact Democratic Services on 01823 356382 or email d.durham@tauntondeane.gov.uk

Standards Committee Members:-

Councillor D House Councillor J Allgrove Councillor S Lees